Poets logo

Sleepless Nights

A Poem About Lying Awake at Night

By Nessy WriterPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

On sleepless nights I turn

and toss

All in reverse

whilst laying damp

with salty sweat and tears that dribble from my eyes

Forming patches of my shame

Amongst my sheets

I turn over every crumb

you gave to me

and try to flick it far away

but still you stay

I wake up wondering

where I am

and who

and why?

And like a spy

My wandering eye

will make a fuss

The shadow corners

Sail across the room

with passing headlights

passing lives

Awake like me

In light of day

I know I'll pay

will pay

For sleepless nights

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nessy Writer

A freelance writer of all sorts sharing it out with the world. Poetry, prose and advice.

If you want to show your support and see more please follow me on Twitter: Nessywriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.