Poets logo

Sleepless In Tacoma...

Slam Poetry

By Tiffany Gordon Published about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2022
56
Sleepless In Tacoma...
Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

Sleep eludes me once again...

It is as if, Insomnia has become my best friend…

😴

The Young & The Restless is currently my favorite Daytime Soap…

Unfortunately, being 'young and restless' has also become my nighttime internal trope...

😴

Randomly counting sheep feels so mundane…

Old School Erykah Badu & Youtube scriptures are what keep a sleepless-me sane...

😴

When my loyal homegurl Insomnia comes to town...

Sleep aids suddenly frown, lose efficacy & collapse to the ground…

😴

Through trial & error I've learned what sticks...

For only Good thoughts & The Creator are strong enough to quell her tricks...

😴

Fortunately, our comforting friend Restful Sleep always steps in and manages to win the tug of war in the end...

By giving Insomnia a bear hug, his calm he lends...

😴

Then, Insomnia rests as soundly as Sleeping Beauty for awhile...

Until the next troubled human's Anxiety & Stress cause her to rouse...

😴

Fortunately, Insomnia only visits me twice a year...

And when she inevitably arrives again, you best believe I'll have my above-mentioned tools of calm & a good book near…

slam poetry
56

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Insomnia twice per year. Un(Lucky) you. Exercise knocks me out. Sleep aid befuddles my senses. Reading in comfort and repose also does the trick. Lovely poetry.

  • Grz Colm12 months ago

    Good one Tiffany !! 😊 I count sheep and use sleep meditations on YouTube.

  • Christian Johnsonabout a year ago

    Everyone has their tools to fall asleep when insomnia hits. Mine is anything narrated by David Attenborough :)

  • 🌹👑💋👍❤️

  • Whitaker Leeabout a year ago

    I love your prose. It’s smooth like jazz.

  • Thayrileabout a year ago

    Nice 👍

  • Jeffrey Allisonabout a year ago

    Insomnia has plagued me in great situations.

  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    I have insomnia. It’s hard to sleep 😢

  • Neferitiriabout a year ago

    *waves from Spokane*

  • Li Maabout a year ago

    Amazing Writing!!

  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    So totally relatable my friend. Congratulations on top story.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    This was so relevant and refreshing! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Blake Boothabout a year ago

    This was wonderful and refreshing, at least knowing I am not alone.

  • liliaemanoabout a year ago

    Loving your words and minds...

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Omg I can so relate❤️ Well done and congratulations on your top story!

  • Alice Abyssabout a year ago

    Wow, a personification of insomnia. I totally loved reading this!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Yayyyy, top story girl!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Amazing, hearted Congratulations on your top story

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Good writing, Tiffany! And congrats on the Top Story!

  • The Dani Writerabout a year ago

    Bullseye of a topic Tiffany! Mega YAYS!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Bazooka Teachesabout a year ago

    I like this one!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Great piece, Tiffany. Well done.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    That is some slamming poem for sure. Love the used of Young and the restless ❤️👌🎉🎤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.