Poets logo

Sleep Paralysis

His Haunting Hour...

By Bryttany MackPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Source. (Tumblr: The Nightmare(2015)) A natural double entendres of the mental struggles with escaping sleep paralysis & a narcissist

The residuals still haunt me

The pain trickles down

I try to escape, you see

Paraplegic I am,

No movement...

Weighted...

The more I move, the more I’m pulled in,

Like quicksand...

Mentally here

But body there

His presence isn’t near

But I still feel the damage of his sear

As he lurks in the shadows,

The darkness arose

Like a thief in the night...

He pose... calculated, militant with every move

Like a vacuum, sucking the air out of me

As grasp my neck, I can barely breathe

Smothering in the smoldering heat of the sheets

Confined

Anxiety settling

Rapid heartbeat...

Suddenly a release

Awakened, no eyes of the beast

I realize I’m back in control

Breathe inside of me

Movement in my feet

& peace is no thing he stole

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.