Poets logo

Sleep

From The Mystic Compass Poems

By Raissa DasselPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sleep
Photo by deepigoyal on Unsplash

Sleep screeches at me like angry sirens waiting for their next victim.

Oh, what a cacophonous sound!

Your crystallized glare hurts me with its diamond appeal. Dew holds only the highest quality moments within her morning leaves; waiting for the next opportunity.

I am completely aware of the next abyss. It taunts me and beckons.

Tsk-tsk.

We know better than to look into Medusa's stone-colored and saddened countenance. Wasn't she cursed for simply having the attention of the immortal God Poseidon? Perhaps Athena should not have placed the crown of snakes on her poor head in the first place.

Everything you could even fathom and wish for is being thrown loudly against the jagged rocks now. Take heed, my friend. Take heed. There will come a chosen time for you.

Reel back the sleep that alludes you because; honestly, you deserve more. Take the journey that scares you today. Maybe you haven't held it or even seen it yet.

The Twizzled wind chimes call to me like an old cherry Luden-colored friend...haunting the air. Don't fear the pause. Be more to everyone than they expect, even if it is just to catch their surprised faces in a quiet cheeky embrace.

Oh, gypsy soul. You need to want more from this life. Stop traveling the wistful, waiting road. You can begin once more. Sleep well, my angel.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Raissa Dassel

I have been a poet since my childhood. It peaked during my misunderstood teens and now again in my 50th year of life. It would be an honor to have people respond to my thoughts. I played the piano as a child, too. It is a beautiful life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.