Poets logo

Slaying the Dragon

An Abecedarian Epic

By Aaron Waddell - The Everyday MysticPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1
Slaying the Dragon
Photo by Jonathan Kemper on Unsplash

As I awoke from the evening's fine slumber,

Brimming with confidence - a man possessed,

Curious was I to see what would await me

Down in the depths where I'd be put to the test.

*

Eager for battle, I picked up my saber.

Facing down fears that flooded my dreams.

Glancing at the door, knowing the time was at hand,

Heading out, I witnessed the Daylight’s first beams.

*

Inspired by thoughts of how I'd be remembered,

Joyfully, I rode out in search of my fate.

Killing the beast that now dwelled in a cave dark.

Letting my people be released from her weight.

*

Miles and miles, I traveled that fine morn.

Nearer and nearer I drew to her lair.

O’er mountain and stream wide I crossed in my journey,

Praying of my arrival, she'd be unaware.

*

Questing for glory, the cavern I entered

Raising her snout from the treasure of her bed,

She drew up to full height,

To her full expression.

Unleashing my sword’s light, I severed her head.

*

Viceroys and nobles, peasants and kings forth

When you hear tales of our

Xanadu fair,

You will know I was who brought forth to full light the

Zenith of Man of which you are now heir.

By Sam te Kiefte on Unsplash

Song Lyricsvintageperformance poetryinspirationalFor FunBallad
1

About the Creator

Aaron Waddell - The Everyday Mystic

Hello dear friend! I'm Aaron - Husband, Father, Writer, Engineer, Poet and Pickleball Junkie.

I write inspirational poems and stories of spiritual growth.

Be a part of my journey of self-discovery and search for truth.

---------

This is Me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.