Poets logo

Sky Tripping With My Little Green Buddy

A poem about showing an alien a favorite thing.

By Jason Ray Morton Published 8 months ago 1 min read
7
Image created with Dall-E

Never have I ever seen a human so full of life and joy,

And while we run around together I can't tell if you're a girl or boy,

From the moment that your ship touched down, we were destined to be friends,

Not caring that you're not from Earth, just having fun until your visit ends.

You said take me to your leader, but I didn't want you to leave so soon,

Our leaders make me wish I could take a trip, and live on the moon,

I wanted to show you my favorite things, but you had a list of your own,

So we decided to do your list first, and it was better than going alone.

We flew across the country, and shut the nukes all down,

Then went to have many beers, one in each bar in town,

We hit up the fast food joints and you sampled all our treats,

But we were so drunk, you puked all over the streets.

We flew to Russia to shut down their toys and slow the destruction of Ukraine,

We partied in Moscow til the brink of dawn and drank ourselves insane,

You let me fly your ship to Rome for real Italian pie,

We bumped the leaning tower before getting high enough in the sky.

Flying back to America you said it was my turn to play guide,

I told you it was about damn time, but we'd had a wild ride,

We flew across the Statue of Liberty, and across the New York sky,

We stopped at a Chicago weed dispensary, and I got you really high,

We stopped along the Mississippi, and I taught you how to fish,

But we had one more stop to make and enjoyed one final dish.

We landed on a beach I knew that had the most wonderful sunsets,

You marveled at the beauty that not one human forgets,

This was our final stop, on a tour of a world that needs saving,

You promised we'd do just fine if we'd only start behaving.

I asked for your advice,

You didn't hesitate or think twice,

Our trip to see my favorite thing was something I did teach,

You told me, "If you want them to behave, show them your magical beach."

performance poetry
7

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    Excellent!!!!!!👏👏👏👏

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Very nicely done.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Fun, fun, fun!!! Love it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Very cool poem! Magical! Great job!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad8 months ago

    This was a nice magical trip with an important message attached to it.

  • Nice and thoughtful 💙💯✌️📝

  • May the sun forever set on our warring ways & ever rise on worldwide peace.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.