Poets logo

Skin My Protection

by V.L. Gonzalez

By V L GoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I'd peel off my skin and cover you

Not only to make yours thicker

But to warm you in my blood, sweat, and love

Because you, beautiful creature, deserve a better fate

From time to time, I burn my hair, face, and body

To be fair enough for the touch of your brightened reflections of me

Suffocate my lungs with the most gorgeous of cloths

Paint my face over with colored powders and animal paste

Lather and layer over every speck of me

Stress my curves

Cloak my flaws

Mask my trace

Then with great courage and fear

Skin my protection

Pluck my nerves

Unmask my vulnerability

In hopes that one day

You'll love more than just my plastered parts.

-- V.L. Gonzalez

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

V L Go

Creative 🦋 Design is Everything!

Why do it alone?

https://linktr.ee/VanessaLianaGo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.