Poets logo

Skin?

I’m ready for the swirl

By Betsyann ThorntonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am black and blonde and sometimes blue but proud to be unique and I suffer deeply when someone calls me freak

I find myself pondering my life if I wasn’t in the skin I’m in.

And does my feeling bullied mean my skin is very thin?

What a privilege our skin is, in its many shades

brown or pink or yellow or the funny hues we turn, as summer colors fade

Everybody’s got their own skin they’re in, a billion shades and more.

Colors’ just skin deep, is that worth fighting for?

We are one race, one people, and as we begin to blend

The family feud over shade of skin will someday hallelujah come to its final end

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.