Poets logo

Skeletons

Il secondo

By Harydo NeonPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

Neon, how's it been? Glad to be back on the right wing

I heard your cry, heard your heart. Here I am, let me in

You think it's that easy? Keep dreaming

You can't barge in here and be the king

Look at him, you think you're good for him

I am, that's why without me he can't leave

Can I talk for myself? Would you even let me speak?

I need to understand the ground on which I'm standing

I'm sinking so hard and fast I admit

But maybe that's my fate and I have to accept it

I am glad you know and see this through my eyes

Though in my heart, I cross my heart and hope you die

Is that what you really want?

Is that what you envisioned when you were young?

He was young and stupid that's a norm

Now he's found joy in me, his addiction

I want this to be over, spirit willing but flesh's weak

Sometimes I only smile based on how much I drink

One bottle and my teeth marks an absentee

Ten bottles and I have the joker's grin

But it's temporal, you know but wouldn't admit

Even you look at the mirror and say "this ain't me"

Lies, you don't know him better than me

I was there when he was lonely and cried miserably

He needed an outlet and I gave him one for free

So where were you when he needed a pair of wings?

Truly where were you when I needed peace?

When I needed an outlet for all I felt within?

I was here when you needed me the most

I was wrong for being out and cold

But I realised things were worse than I thought

As your conscience, I couldn't watch you destroy your world

I read Mansion and I knew the time had come

Let me in, let's start cleaning this house up

It's hurting you, everything, everyone that you love

I know you, and this is choking you up

You survived this long but you need a refreshing make-up

He wouldn't listen and you know why

Cause I hold the keys, so just squat outside.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Harydo Neon

I drain my thoughts through my pen. That's the only way I breathe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.