Poets logo

Sitting On Top Of The Roof

I See Our Beautiful World

By Carol TownendPublished about a month ago 1 min read
4
Sitting On Top Of The Roof
Photo by Adi Constantin on Unsplash

Lakes, Rivers, and tall buildings,

Busy roads down below;

White mist on the horizon,

Blue skies and clouds floating

in all directions.

Birds flying high above singing their

morning song,

And in the silver lining,

The orange colour of a setting sun.

I gaze out in wonder;

Breathing in the peaceful world below,

On this rooftop, I see our beautiful world,

Though down below, a different story unfolds.

I want to sit here forever,

I want to let the chaos below disappear

into the never.

With the most profound sorrow,

I must climb down;

I must face the petrol fumes,

Busy traffic,

Crowded spaces,

And pollution that drowns our world.

I stand at the bottom of the building,

And in my memory forever,

I will always see the image of our beautiful world.

Isn't it a shame that the image of our world from above,

can't be the same image that we see from the ground?

social commentaryperformance poetrynature poetryinspirationalFree Verse
4

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher about a month ago

    Beautiful. I love the peaceful imagery. You did a great job with this Carol.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.