Poets logo

Sit as a Me

A meditation on noticing

By Jake WestPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image Credit: https://www.verywellmind.com/managing-panic-disorder-in-public-2584185

I can’t believe the people in my life are turning so scaly. Wrinkled temples, simple disease, they make me cry out, “PLEASE”. Push shove love. Laugh long ago. They seem to need. It’s… meh. Like, come on. Don’t do that. I want you to be the love that I once could only see. I ideally want you to walk with me.

I guess there is this point in life, as one trecks alone, that they must stop walking and realize that where they are is far enough. Take a seat, rock side to side using your feet. Breath in the air and let your eyes begin to weep. Feel the rage that burns your soul and the fear that makes you call yourself an asshole. Let the tastes in your mouth sprinkle to life and skip a breath as your heart thinks twice. Touch your fingers, tip to tip. Chip them and pick at them as the nerves settle in. Follow the hyenas as they roll with madness. Strain your vocal cords and settle into the sadness.

It’s hard to sit. Watching others walk past. They taunt you. They judge you. They look down at you. “Couldn’t keep up. Couldn’t handle it. Didn’t have the drive. No passion. No purpose. Just a lost soul”. Some will stop for you. Pull and push you to your feet. Demanding that you walk to their beat… they’re the worst.

I guess I’m just trying to say that I’m sorry. I’m sorry for the imperfection I just can’t seem to squeeze. You are the light within me. Sometimes it’s so bright that I go to my knees, and other times it’s so thin that I can’t breathe. Regularity, stability. I hear the words that are asked of me. And so I let go. I stop marching as a “we” and sit as a “me”.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jake West

I like words

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.