Poets logo

Sink or Save the Ship

The sun shined at the beginning of 25th and Western that day

By Michael ButorovichPublished 5 months ago 1 min read

“Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.

That leaves you with one day for chores;

Then a single day for rest;

When are you going to write?”

{

If you worked like this... I’d put

My money on you ending up in the

Hospital. I’d put my money on it”

He said.

{

After a little more dialogue, I went

On to saying “I have such an abundant

Amount of energy it’s shocking” as I

Looked away from him to face the wall

Repeating “It’s shocking”

{

I left that resort knowing there would be no

Hiring for the amount I asked for working.

I didn’t know how to explain my way of writing

And how it works.

{

The sun shined at the beginning of 25th and

Western that day. Behind me in PV was nothing

But mist and slight rain.

I was gonna get through the pain and make what

I had to make to celebrate when it was affordable.

{

I went down to The Spot to shoot some pool.

Chalk the que and run the next shot.

Then get back to work on our first kitchen job.

{

After that we can get to love or words or drink.

Sitting there with hours to think.

Which brings me to now.

The moment where I found a little bit.

The moment where I got a little further

Instead of calling it quits.

“When are you going to write?”

On my breaks.

The moment it fits.

Wherever there is no love or anything

That comes after it.

{

Until the hospital and flatline come equipped.

inspirationalslam poetryFree Verse

About the Creator

Michael Butorovich

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Anna 5 months ago

    I love it! Good job!😊

Michael ButorovichWritten by Michael Butorovich

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.