Poets logo

Sing My praises

Poetry

By Em HoccanePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Sing My praises
Photo by Shane Rounce on Unsplash

Sing my praises

Today, I desire to sing my praises

For no one else will.

I won't wait to go down before the 'sweet' tributes are read.

I'll acknowledge my autonomous self, this day...

Thank you, Darling Self

For being there when others left with broken vows,

For taking in the bad

And still fighting to be better each day,

Not for anyone else but for me.

I appreciate you, Darling Self

That despite the repelling remarks from both myself and others,

You carried on with life and hope.

And though you countlessly lost

me,

You never gave in till you got me back.

I deem it a pleasure being with you, Darling Self

You watched as I grew

Believing in me and overcoming my fears and regrets.

Mopping up thoughts that none knew ever existed.

I love you, Darling Self

For bearing all hurts and perplexities which I burdened you with.

And most of all,

I admire your readiness to become the best version of me as times pass by.

I notably sing praises to you, Darling Self.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Em Hoccane

Creative writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.