Poets logo

Sin Poems

Describe each of the seven deadly sins without naming them.

By Morgan StarkeyPublished 12 months ago 2 min read
Like

-Lust-

She is carnal desire.

Red silk sheets

Decadent melting candies

Her bed is never empty.

When she speaks

You drop.

On your knees

You’re begging.

One touch

Just a taste

Please

She moves like water.

Sensually flowing

Soft skin

The feeling overwhelming

Just give in

Surrender to her

-Gluttony-

There is a void.

Hunger never ending.

No man

No beast

Never satisfied.

It begins small.

One snack

Two meals

There’s no more.

Never enough

Empty

Hollow

I need more.

Meat; fruit; drink

I am a shell.

There is nothing inside

I must be filled

-Pride-

How is it a sin?

I am beautiful.

I am powerful.

They bow to me.

They worship me.

I cannot be compared.

I am unmatched.

A ruler cannot fall.

Not one such as I

Do not speak against me.

You will be shown.

I am absolute.

A treasure

A bounty of no claim

There is none to stand against me.

You’ll find I am the best

-Wrath-

Red hot

Vengeance

I will inflict pain.

I will taste your fear.

There is no greater weapon than I

My might unmatched

The haze takes over my vision.

You cannot escape.

No discrimination

Fury

Bathing in blood

I will never calm.

You call on me.

When emotion isn’t enough

When pain is to be given

There is no greater power.

The feel of scorn

-Sloth-

She is soft.

Seen in dreams.

Never waking

Wading through watercolor

Fragments

Whisps of thought

Nothing catches.

Nothing stays.

She is drowsy.

Drifting idly

Borne on clouds.

No pain, desire, blood, or love

Sweet silence

Relief of burden

The world at peace

So long

As you stay asleep

-Envy-

Why do they get it?

All I want.

No kindness toward me

Scraps

As if I am a dog.

But I need.

I need him.

I need that home.

I am owed what I desire.

The world

They keep me down.

But they will give me.

That I wish for

I will take.

But I will want more.

Will I ever begin to covet less?

No

Give me your life.

So, I can deign to look at another

-Greed-

Gold

Cash

Cha-Ching

Line my pockets

Nothing matters

But Wealth

A Diamond

Or a life

I will take money

Bury me in riches

I’ll take to my grave

There is nothing more important

Call me a miser

Give me a Midas touch

I will be surrounded

Jewels and all that glitters

I will possess all that is material

performance poetrysurreal poetrylist
Like

About the Creator

Morgan Starkey

I am a 28 year old, female. I am part of and an avid supporter of the LGBT community. I have been writing since I was in high school and once dreamed of being a writer, now my dream is to be an English teacher, but I still want to write

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.