Poets logo

Simultaneous Emotions

Geia B

By Ambre CarstairsPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Simultaneous Emotions
Photo by Tengyart on Unsplash

I looked at you and I knew 

The connection was true 

To you this feeling was nothing new

Something to make birdsongs to

With love, humility and candour 

Your expressions floating with splendour

With love, humility and candour 

Your expressions floating with universal grandeur

To me this feeling was a permanent hue 

Of dim-lit blues searching to find a solution to conclude

This perpetual, perceptual stagnation

In waves of simultaneous spectral revelations

Untouched by the colours of elation

Endlessly hoping for cessation of my desperation

My eyes touched the very core of you

And the blues began outbursting

Lessons of a person well versed in a universe

Of pursed lips and misunderstanding

Immersed in adverse views towards your truths

With the strength of bamboo shoots

Growing gracefully in loving plenitude

You shine through

Emotions of purity were brought out unintentionally 

In a moment of complete absurdity

Unsurity of mental clarity 

I knew you could feel me 

Crying and smiling simultaneously 

With the happiness of understanding

In the sadness of remembering

Your love flowing without direction

In connection to moonlit galaxies

Star filled hugs vibrating an undeniable feeling

That it's time to end concealing the magnitude 

Of agony unbearably living inside of me, of us

For blue is not synonymous with depression

With contradictory connotations 

Blue is the colour of expression

Sad yet revelatory

Like this out of the blue poetic creation

With blue skies on the horizon

Serenity as a possibility

Blue is not synonymous with depression

Although depicted as cold on the spectrum

It is the heat to the bonfire flames

Whilst you lay with softly lapping blue waves

Easing away the pain, of your depression

Blue is not the dim-lit hue behind suffering

But the beauty of thundering skies and constellations

Electric connection in this commotion

Within which stigmatised connotations associated with any and all emotions

Become nothing

You showed me

That to be blue is to be you

To be you is to be me

To be me is to be we

To not be alone in the cacophony

Of simultaneous emotions 

In a world of separation 

Sharing and togetherness is the solution 

To live serenely in a life

Perceptually magnificent, of complexity and beauty

So I like, I love to be blue

If it means that I and you

You and I

I and her and him and they and all of us

Can be together

Blue

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.