Poets logo

Simple Comforts

Sometimes the simple ones are the best ones.

By R.J. WintersPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Simple Comforts
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

The rain is constant

A soothing drumbeat in the background

Wrapped in a soft blanket

It’s warm colours and patterns such a soothing sight

A cup is beside me

The steam is wafting

The smell of peppermint caressing my nose

Sat by the window

I see the mist obscuring my humble garden

If I were to step outside

The bracing wind on my face

The rain in my hair

The crunching leaves beneath my feet

Such a sweet sound

That soothing smell of the rain

Of the decaying leaves all around

A peaceful calm as the world prepares to sleep

The soft twilight of the seasons

Tonight the stars will shine overhead

Glinting and twinkling in the deep blue of the sky

But I will be inside

A purring cat sat upon my lap

A cup of tea next to me

And the familiar pages of a book in my hands

It’s sweet smelling pages inviting me inside.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

R.J. Winters

A collection of short stories and excerpts I've written in various genres. Because picking just one genre isn't as much fun as having multiple genres in your pocket.

(She/Her)

My Twitter

My Pillowfort

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.