Poets logo

Simba's Poem

A Heavenly Answer

By C C FarleyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Simba's Poem
Photo by Marc Wieland on Unsplash

A True Story

After a brief illness, my cat was gone,

I was lost in sadness, and so withdrawn.

My beloved Simba had left this earth,

Only twelve years he was since his birth

But Simba was always gentle and kind,

With me through the darkest days of my mind.

Went through many jobs and dark times,

And his purr was like a happy chime.

Months passed, and things were not the same.

Life’s short, and death’s not a game.

And many a day, I cried bottomless tears,

After he left, I shouldered many fears.

Then, one Easter weekend years ago,

A miracle did happen, you should know.

I saw a light -- hope began to appear.

It came from near Simba's urn,

Bringing peace, and helping me to learn.

That death is not the end of love

And that my feline friend, was up above.

In another room, my husband saw a tunnel too,

A pathway for Simba's spirit to renew.

This rare sight, it filled me with peace,

Bringing comfort, and a sense of release.

When pets die, there's a place for them too,

A world beyond ours, where they can be free and true.

Though Simba's gone, his spirit still remains,

A shining light in my heart's domains.

He was always there, in my darkest hours,

Guiding me through, with his gentle powers.

So now I smile, when I think of that day,

That I saw a sign that Simba’s spirit lives!

His love shines so bright, up in the heavenly skies.

A rare and precious memory, that I'll always hold on.

A Heavenly moment; even though he's long gone,

I know he's in a better place, free from pain and strife,

And that thought brings me comfort, for the rest of my life.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

C C Farley

I loved reading at an early age. Writing is also a passion and I love writing, reading, and spending time with my pets.

I also love photography, independent film making, travel and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.