Poets logo

Silver Wings

Her silver wings took her across baby blue skies and deep blue waters to see the world in all it's vivid color

By Patti Marrs MagillPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6
for 22 years I flew from one end of the world to the next with my wings as credentials

I sit on the shelf. And wait.

What is my destiny

Am I to be dropped in a box

With other memories of youth and beauty

The petals of an old carnation, postcards, and

Ticket stubs my only companions

Perhaps I will be handed to daughter, then to Granddaughter

Like photographs, china settings and linens

Until at last I am in the hands of one who never knew her

Never knew the glamor, the adventure of

The one who wore me so proudly upon her uniform

Perhaps I shall remain in darkness

Until I am discovered by a yard sale pirate

I have no use to anyone

Now my silver turns brown with age

A mirror in reverse as her brown hair turns to silver

For now, …I sit on the shelf. And wait.

Leaving for Olbia 2011

sad poetry
6

About the Creator

Patti Marrs Magill

Retired Corporate Flight Attendant, pursuing new careers in writing and education. I have 4 adult children, 6 grandchildren, and live in Central California. Currently I am taking on students to tutor in reading and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.