Poets logo

Silent (Where My Reads Went)

In the last week of March, 2021, Vocal creators’ read counts froze with no explanation from the website.

By TrizenicPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
22
Silent (Where My Reads Went)
Photo by whoislimos on Unsplash

Verse 1

My thoughts, my dreams, electrical

Impulses—words became digital

Worlds where we shared engagement

Now I wonder where those days went

Statistically, it’s just not the same

With zero reads or financial gain

Asking why, but you’re acting confused

Like you’ve never heard of page views

Prechorus

Looking back to when I got my Vocal plus

I was writing every day, thinking of us

But now you’re double posting about hair

And I don’t think it’s right—no, I don’t think it’s fair

Chorus

I can’t believe

The number I see

It’s like a big donut

That I cannot eat

I’m begging you please

You say you’re Vocal, but you’re silent

Just wanna know where my reads went

Verse 2

My friends tell me about Medium

But I’m still givin’ you my premium

Give you my time and my patience

But my stats are looking ancient

Statistically, I don’t play these games

With zero reads, I might go insane

“Elaborate on the issue,” you say

Never thought you’d be this way

Prechorus

Looking back to when I got my Vocal plus

Now my stories sit alone, collecting dust

And you wanna talk, “If this, then that,”

Well, if this is how you feel, then I’m not coming back

Chorus

‘Cause I can’t believe

The number I see

It’s like a big donut

That I cannot eat

I’m begging you please

You say you’re Vocal, but you’re silent

Just wanna know where my reads went

Bridge

Someday, we’ll find a way

To the Vocal Media of yesterday

Feeling a love that is more

Than a losing tennis score

Chorus

Cause I can’t believe

The number I see

It’s like a big donut

That I cannot eat

I’m begging you please

You say you’re Vocal, but you’re silent

Just wanna know where my reads went

I must confess

Each time I refresh

It’s harder to deal with

The emptiness

I’m telling you this

You say you’re Vocal, but you’re silent

Just wanna know where my reads went

heartbreak
22

About the Creator

Trizenic

Twitter: @Trizenic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.