Poets logo

SILENT SYMPHONY

a prayer within

By Catherine NyomendaPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
SILENT SYMPHONY
Photo by Nischal Kanishk on Unsplash

The day I buy myself a color black Harrier

I will shave my legs

steam my thighs

and paint my hair red.

I will slide into my little black dress

and stuff my feet inside a pair of drop-dead gorgeous six-inch heels

I am yet to decide on the importance of wearing underwear.

On that day,

I will wear kilos of lipstick

buckets of face powder

and several cans of body spray

I will buy chewing gum

and make balloons with it.

Before I drive off

I will raise my hands and praise God

I will slot in my favorite music – Fally Ipupa Mayday

wiggle my fine buttocks for a minute

slap my thighs,

decorate my fingers with gold rings

and hide my eyes in black shades.

It is then that I will drive to Nairobi

after hanging my bra on the side mirror

ha! On that day…

******

.

For Fun

About the Creator

Catherine Nyomenda

I love writing. I love the swirl of words as they tangle with human emotions. I am a flexible writer and can write almost anything, do you need any help creating content? Well then, get in touch...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Emily Binkley2 months ago

    What a cool day. Sounds fun.

  • Hahahahahaha this sounded like a dang good day!

Catherine NyomendaWritten by Catherine Nyomenda

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.