Poets logo

Silence

Leaving something to be wanted

By E.L.MPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

It has become predictable, this silence

Leaving something to be wanted in the way of a fight

I used to try and explain, argue for the sake pride

I used to give a damn and always try to stay allied

It must be sending you into a frenzy with the way you grow crueler out of spite

You must be be thinking this is done out of fright

If it makes it more bearable, that will never be denied

Although the truth remains that I have simply started to take it all in stride

It has become predictable, this silence

It may appear as though I have failed, in the stark contrast of wrong and forthright

The reality is that my energy is no longer a place for you to reside

My peace of mind is no longer a sandbox for you to override

You can twist this silence into what you wish, all while you play contrite

Empty apologies before you begin your next attack with no foresight

All the wasted time spent trying to be understanding and attempting to confide

All the empty years lost to the hope of something only ever implied

You kept us going round and round again, dizzy while the nausea sets in like a parasite

Unleased by you to drain away anything that might excite

While I tried to salvage the fantasy you supplied

And you stomped around my sandbox like it was your own personal little seaside

No, this silence is predictable unlike the way you twisted my words and hoped to leave me out of sight

This silence is now come to be expected as you sling your insults through out any odd night

Because I have made this silence mine refused to help your hunger be supplied

You can no longer have my words to use as moonlight

On those dark and unforgiving nights you wish to find a way to rewrite

You can no longer have the warmth of my energy to find a way inside

Out of the coldness you have created with your divide

What you chose to do is nothing to me because to you my words have been denied

After all the hard earned lessons I have lived and found the light

After all the heart ache I have managed to survive and take flight

Yes, you can have only my silence, predictable though it may be in hindsight

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

E.L.M

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.