Poets logo

Silence that Suffocates

Desiring someone can be hard, but knowing they do not see you for yourself is even harder. Knowing their expectations of you are based on something you are not because you had to change to meet what they wanted is cruel and just an illusion.

By Alixzandra WisemanPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Silence that Suffocates
Photo by Drew Graham on Unsplash

Such silence that suffocates , creeping into darkness that slip out from the corners of my mind that was once filled with such joy and laughter. I feel nothing but shame and depression now, but oh how I long to listen to your voice and to rest my head against your chest once again and listen to your heartbeat . But alias I can not listen to that sweet sound once again, for you want nothing to do with me , I'm nothing but invisible to you merely a shadow of former myself.

Would you prefer me if I were like them? The perfect high society girls with their flawless skin, makeup and hair, everything in its place so elegant and illusive, so clearly fake of how true they are. You don't notice me now in my imperfect way, so why would you notice me if I changed to be like them?

Surely if I dressed the part of a cheep tart from high society to merely dangle on your arm like a dolly bird, then what would truly catch your eye about me? You would not see a women with intelligence, you would just see a women that's simply on your arm, but even that is over looked by you and would be questioned as to why I've changed as such, it is as if there is no pleasing you.

Perhaps I'm not the women you are truly looking for , so why then do you both talking to me? It's a shame you can not see past friendship that you so humbly remind me of and yet then remind me of how lonely and single you are, but maybe I'm ugly and not the faithful women I know to be, maybe you desire those truly cheep tarty girls so flawless and prefect yet such an illusion of fakery.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.