Poets logo

Short Stack

They don’t deserve you

By PoeticallyPurple24Published 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Short Stack
Photo by Kat J on Unsplash

I met you at the pool one day .

You grinned ear to ear and wanted to play,

I knew you were autistic by your personality.

But something about you drown you to me.

You’re so bubbly and smart .

Im sure you’re caring with a great heart.

I made goodies bag for you and the other guy.

But btw I came back you were gone quicker than a fly .

The next morning I saw your dad.

I said what’s wrong he looked sad.

He said okay .

I said I have something for you kid .

And I gave the bag away .

Later that today I saw you at the pool .

And you said you’re that girl from yesterday ,smiled and said cool.

I looked in your shoe to get the size,I guess that’s smart .

I remembered you wanted some swim shoes so I went to Walmart.

I looked everywhere they were no swim shoes .

Get you something different or leave without.

I had to choose.

I picked a towel set,a football,water bottle and I gave you my sunscreen too.

It felt like the right thing to do .

I got back and got hit with anxiety .

Was I overstepping boundaries ,what’s happening to me ,

I talked to a lady there and see if she could relate .

She said no ,that subject was on her play .

She knew them ,so she called the father over so we could talk.

I didn’t want him to think I’m here to be weird and stalk.

I handed you the bag and you happy with it all.

The sunblock was most important today you learned .

You told your dad to put it on tomorrow so you won’t get sun burned.

I laughed and said thank you .

That smile you gave me is worth seeing if others and your father knew .

A few moments later the squat team caught my eye.

They were here about a troubled younger guy .

Anyways we all talked about you and your needs.

It just sucks you don’t get proper feeds.

Your room neighbor and I spoke about you .

The managers upstairs ,I was like fuck I didn’t know what to do .

The cops pulled over and came to your door .

I was frightened,I didn’t know what’s enstore.

Your neighbor told me what happened and I freaked out.

I was scared and anxious idk what that was about .

I felt like it was my fault they’re there .

Everyone was talking ,

But they didn’t care like I care.

My cheeks were hot and I wanted to cry .

What if I can see you again Short Stack,what if I can’t say goodbye.

I called my cousin and she told me what to do .

She said I know you’re scared but think this through.

She said he’ll be somewhere better ,let them do what they have to do.

I talked the with the hot guy ,clown tattoos .

But for them to be so scary of him,whwehhhh 😅

Alright that’s enough info for you kid ,back to you.

My childhood flashed in front of my eyes.

When everyone left tears came down and all I did was have silent cries.

But as I spoke to him it stopped .

And his conversation made me realize .

I’m sitting here all night having a heart attack.

I hope wherever you go,they take care of you & you have a great life short stack .

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

PoeticallyPurple24

I’m told I have a natural gift so let’s see how meaningful it really is !🥰

I used writing as a coping mechanism to get me through hardships in life .My goal is to become a poet that will change the world .I hope you can see my gift shine .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.