Poets logo

Shopping for a Bear

Poetry By: Bazal Morani

By Bazal MoraniPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Максим Власенко on Unsplash

My favorite thing to do as a kid was go shopping for a bear

It didn’t matter if it was at a mall or winning it at a fair

They always looked soft and comforting like they were made with love

Every Time I saw one, it was like it was sent for me from above

But then one night as I was out at the mall

This purple dinosaur bear gave me a call

But this time was different, it didn’t feel the same

The eyes seemed to glisten like it was playing a game

I didn’t feel safe or feel it filled with love and kindness

I could have sworn I felt hatred and darkness

But I was just a kid and I didn’t know otherwise

So I picked it up anyway and started to glide

I was halfway to my mom when I felt a sharp pain

There was a bite mark on my wrist deep into my vein

I started to scream and cry as my mom made her way towards me

But then her eyes got wide and screamed as she backed away slowly

I didn’t understand what was wrong as I looked down at the bear

I thought she was backing away because she didn’t care

But that’s when I saw it as it started to grow taller

That was when my mom started to cry and holler

I lost my mom that day as she got eaten right there

And now I will never go shopping for a rotten bear

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Bazal Morani

A strong believer in women's rights, I have joined with Queens and Future Queens to empower the women in our community. Professionally, I am a business consultant with a background in education. I love to empower and inspire.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.