Poets logo

Shooting Star

Lead to Gold

By Will HousePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Shooting Star
Photo by Luca Micheli on Unsplash

A light coat of dew layers the wire grass.

The night is young, and Autumn is turning cold.

The ancestors sit up in the firmament like a counsel of those past.

Their day is no more, yet their light shines on. Bold.

In my mind I stand on trial, hoping for a verdict at last.

Their silence, worse than a guilty sentence, truth be told.

Almost feeling alone, accompanied only by my shadow cast.

Then at a glance, at last! A shooting star, shimmering in gold.

The ancestors have spoken, there's fortune in tokens. Along the path so vast.

Tread carefully, they warn... for the fool chooses the glimmering road.

That night in a dream, a test it should seem, a lesson I'd have to learn fast.

Ancestral maps with a fork in the road, to Sol, or to Sold...

I call for Thoth, seeking wisdom and guidance. Which way should I go, I ask.

"It's up to "u"..." he said as he vanish. Then Legba appeared. Arms fold.

"Are you an alchemist?" he asked. "If so, is that not the task?"

I awoken confused, which way should I choose? Confidence, not well bode.

Walked to a mirror. IT'S "U", I exclaimed. Once hidden because of a mask.

A shooting star lives on, I smiled. My so(u)l, not yet sold.

Once drunk in ignorance; broken and mad. I've now tossed the flask.

A fool's imitation that rusted me old. Now I've gone from lead to gold.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Will House

I lost my voice while on my journey. I seek to win it back. I hope that my words help those who are going through their own trials. The art of storytelling has been around since the dawn of time, and still lives on. Here are some of my own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.