Poets logo

Shoes of Ruby Red

by Trudi Jane

By Trudi JanePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2

Alone in the dark was a deep place to be

Full of nightmares, evil and then there was me

Someone I didn't even really know

How does that happen where do we go?

I thought I could see it all in front of me

A path that was laid out so clearly

But I looked down one day onto shoes of ruby red

And started listening to the voices in my head

It was time to click my heels and start the path home

Even if it meant leaving all that I had known

This journey is not for the faint of heart

Ascension will build you and then tear you apart

All to allow you to rise higher still

For how else would you see beyond the next hill

It is a yellow brick road littered with things

Don't get stuck running around in rings

The brainless, the heartless and those filled with fear

Take care with those you choose to let near

You'll need to clear out the junk in your mind

Illusion, delusion amongst the things you may find

A lifetime of secrets you have held in place

Each one of them you will most certainly face

Learn how to battle the witch that lives within

Balance those demons beneath your skin

Each new step brings a lesson or three

Search within so that you can see

No wizard of oz is higher than you

The truth is you already know what to do

It is all inside, and love is the key

That is something I hope you will see

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Trudi Jane

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.