Poets logo

Shiva

An unexpected love

By Amanda HamiltonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

You will know him when you see him,

The dream whispered to me one night.

He will speak his name and call to you ,

It will be upon you like a fright.

Quick and sudden ,

With no warning,

Suddenly he will appear .

And In a flash of light ,

Your single life will be over ,

And then there'll be no fear .

So I wandered and I waited,

And I thought,

When will he come?

As I walked the streets elated,

The dream strong,

Hoping my heart will not be stung.

Then one day as I hitchhiked ,

A lady stopped her car in glee.

And into the car I tumbled,

Into my lap leapt he.

He was black and white and tiny,

He was small and cute and strong .

And I knew without a doubt,

This boy was mine,

No idea where he was from.

"Can I have him"?

I quickly asked.

My breath panting,

Eyes wide awake.

"They are all gone!"

She pointed to the puppies ,

But that one no-one has a stake .

So we organised a pickup,

A place to re-unite.

And I hugged him and I held him,

As I walked away my heart was light.

Four weeks now past too slowly ,

And I questioned the dreams voice at night .

But then I saw him, no doubting,

As he leapt into my sight .

As we ran towards each other

In a room of dogs and pee.

Knowing our path will soon be started,

Together,

Our lifes journey with him and me .

So love did actually find me ,

Just not the two footed kind .

And death till we part did happen,

Too soon too quick in time.

how to

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AHWritten by Amanda Hamilton

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.