Poets logo

Shelves

and the lack there of

By J.DounePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Shelves
Photo by Darren Richardson on Unsplash

There are no shelves

No posters on barren walls

The floor littered with unpacked boxes

Even a year on I've yet to make this place my home

Maybe I'm not used to having a room to my own

It's been so long since I've been in a place that makes me feel safe that I can call home

So I trap myself in this baren room after every day and am still scared I'll have to leave it all in the end

Pack up and head back to where my monsters call home

I don't want to go back

I want to make my mark on my shitty little apartment

Leave something that says I lived here

Maybe then I can make it feel like home

-J.Doune

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

J.Doune

I write to rationalize my feelings and I'm a man who feels a lot. Sad, scarred, depressed, angry, I feel ugly because how hard they hit I feel beaten and bloody. It feels like going ten rounds with myself and my laptop every time I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • McKenzie McQuade2 years ago

    This reminds me of my experience moving into my college dorm

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.