Poets logo

She Sang to Me a Language Strange

A Perspective on Creativity

By Amanda StarksPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
2

She sang to me a language strange

Her melodic voice scratching at my ears

Leaking notes and hymns

Where they bled

And bled a river more

Until I began to understand

The reason why she breathed

He wrote to me a letter strange

Where every symbol was written backwards

And upside down

The vanilla paper splattered with angry ink

And the edges worn by weary hands

And I began to understand

The reason why he told stories

They painted me a person strange

Where every shadow, crevice and surface flaw

Was rendered for all to see

Upon a fake white background

Of cardboard

And I began to understand

The reason why they preferred color

You acted out a scene so strange

That I thought to myself

How can you be so completely lost in your art

So full of sound, word and color

And yet be so disconnected from what makes it?

And finally I began to understand

The reason why you were an actor

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Amanda Starks

Lover of the dark, fantastical, and heart-wrenching. Fantasy writer, poet, and hopefully soon-to-be novelist who wants to create safe spaces to talk about mental health. Subscribe to my free newsletter at www.amandastarks.com for updates!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.