Poets logo

She's Gone

A Poem About Two Deaths - One Still Lives Outside The Heart

By EYHCSPublished 8 months ago โ€ข Updated 8 months ago โ€ข 2 min read
7

I have been away - in grief - in shelter - and preparing to continue the legacy of a true Saint.

If a physical heart could break, I hear the threads of mine split in two. I saw it coming, but the moment left me unprepared for the emotional barrage of debilitating emotions. My soul cried, my heart ached, and her death revealed the unimaginable. My Angel sits in the wind now - guiding me always!

______________________

{Ring, Ring, Ring - Alert out of sleep} It's 6:33 a.m.

{A quick look at the phone, my stomach drops, I know before the words are spoken... She's gone}

These are the words that changed my world.

My stomach began to hurl.

I knew the time was near.

The Angel let me know I had nothing to fear.

I wanted to let you know, I reached for the phone connection.

Not realizing I was headed for ejection.

Five years,

Ten years,

Fifteen years,

Twenty years,

Twenty-five years

Thirty years,

And I finally learned who had been throwing all those spears.

You stood in the gap of hope.

Keeping me from hanging by a rope.

Your heart suffers no more.

There are things I can no longer ignore.

You came to me in a vision.

With such precision.

I now see why we needed a revision.

For my heart requested a rescission.

These pieces of my broken heart continue to fall apart.

I believe the knowledge of the truth - you did impart.

Never in my wildest dreams would I have seen those darts.

My naiveite, thanks to you, now departs.

So wrapped in illusion and confusion.

My mind constantly changed to a different conclusion.

I must confess the infusion has left me with a contusion.

No wonder I have been in seclusion.

I never imagined the gift of protection would create an infection.

My God called for an inspection.

Friend or foe, reveal your reflection.

It is time to reveal your correction of genuine affection.

With eyes wide open to your actual motivation, I stand.

Wondering why this isnโ€™t your hand.

Some things I need to understand.

This was a cryptic demand.

My heart was deceived.

Your duplicity was achieved.

Yet through blood, love was still received.

I am now relieved.

Shock and awe.

Was my most significant flaw.

My emotions are so raw.

Thank God for the law.

Death and life converge.

The truth did emerge.

Archangel Gabriel revealed the urge.

Two sorrows created this dirge.

My eyes were deceived.

My heart from yours is now retrieved.

It let me know that my soul is now relieved.

I would like to know how your honor was misperceived.

Thank the heavens for silent whispers.

They touched my mind like angelic whiskers.

Curing hidden blisters.

And, here, I thought we were sisters.

Today - love your loved ones a little more. Give the gift of joy with each word you speak. For tomorrow is not promise, but life must and will go on.

Thanks for reading and joining me in another poem on the human condition. If it stirred your emotions ๐ŸŽค, please drop a comment ๐Ÿ’ฌ. If you like the vibe, drop a heart ๐Ÿ’— and subscribe ๐Ÿ’Œ.

sad poetryheartbreak
7

About the Creator

EYHCS

Poet by birth. Writer by craft. Artist by nature. I write poems, prose, short stories, fiction, and realism works of art dissecting the human condition and the resilience of the human mind. Many of my pieces are metaphoric stanzas.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    Beautifully penned.

  • Test8 months ago

    I am so sorry for you loss. A beautully powerful piece x Exquisitely written ๐Ÿค

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Dear Ms. 'e' - Only you, with your gift derived within the womb, could speak to all of us - Bless You and Yours. I feel richer by relating to your lovely tribute. 'j'

  • My heart from yours is now retrieved. This was my most favourite line! Your poem was so powerful! I loved it!

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    Beautifully penned & heartfelt... I'm so sorry 4 your loss...

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿฝ Very sorry for your loss! Your poem felt like much needed relief and closure. It was beautiful and very well thought out. God Bless us all!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Very interesting! Great job! โค๏ธ

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.