Poets logo

She Like Math

Short Poetry by @thebookMD

By Jymyaka BradenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Passion Rutledge: Jymyaka Braden outside the American Visionary Art Museum of Baltimore, MD.

Just another number on your timeline,

where do I fit in your equation?

Treading a thin line

In my mind,

having dual conversations.

Words on my lips, hands on your hips,

Each trying a figure.

Rounding off to the nearest digit,

Incongruent humor.

She laughing but I'm serious.

About the Poet

Poetry is my first love. I read and write across genres, but I have always had a heart for music and poetry. I like to recall the first time I published a piece. I wrote a song and submitted it to the Ross Elementary Schoolwide Competition. It was a song whose title eludes me, but the pride of hearing my name over the announcements stays with me. Like a true artist, the cheers and the rants were bittersweet for me because they said my song was a poem. I was angered at the audacity of these peasants to misgenre my work. Then some kind soul told me that a song on paper is a poem. I considered that for a moment and then I felt better. From that moment on, I identified as a poet.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Jymyaka Braden

JJ Braden is an enthusiastic reader & an animated storyteller who believes strongly in the written word to create bridges across worlds, cultures, & timelines. Thru book coaching, she forges a path to publishing for nontraditional creators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.