Poets logo

SHE LEFT

I ESCAPED

By Eastern TwelvePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
7

You say I left in the darkest of night

But yet again you read me wrong

Misunderstanding my every verb

Misinterpreting my every adjective

And so again I'm forced to explain

Defend my unseen being

From the lies you so spread, that ruin my humble name

I speak to claim the respect!

It breaks me that you think I left

Don't get me wrong though , I loathe your presence...

It is the 'left' that devours my sanity

To feel accused of breaking a promise

I never did leave...I escaped ...

Of course your wondering...isn't it the same?

But leaving and escaping can never be the same

It's a lot of word play but pray I tell

Leaving is steep

It is artless

Escape is gradual

It is subtle...

slam poetryvintagesurreal poetry
7

About the Creator

Eastern Twelve

Apricity

It's a definate 12!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Nathan Weiss11 months ago

    Real Poetry.

  • Morema Joe11 months ago

    Nice piece❤️

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Beautifully written. I love this. 👏🏼👏🏼

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.