Poets logo

She Became One With The Sky’s Constellation

For all the world to see

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 1 min read
11
Image courtesy of Pixabay

She awakens to hearing her name whispered

When she realises it is the night stars calling,

She is bathed in her friend’s light, the moon

Their exciting glow and smiles enthralling.

***

Her bed is highlighted in their starry lights

Bursts of shades of pink and scattered greys,

And she listens closely as they whisper at her

As their words and light set her skin ablaze.

***

“Please do not try to convince me to hold on,

As I wish to let go of all that keeps me caged,”

She called up to her friends, asking for help

As she needs to unlock her shackled outrage.

***

She trusts the nightly moon and bright stars

Knowing they keep her darkest secrets hidden,

But she needs more from this unlikely friendship

Although she’s aware this friendship’s forbidden.

***

“Will I ever be able to clean off this dirty stain

Foreshadowing me from my haunting colours,”

She mournfully cries, hoping for a real solution

To remove the stains so her heart recovers.

***

“I need to return to the others waiting in the meadow

Those weary warriors that hold matching scars,

My kind that proudly display their horrid wounds

That are as deep as their dreams,” she tells the stars.

***

“From the meadow we’ll silently merge with the night

We will become one with the sky’s constellations,

Blended in beautiful friendship for all the world to see,”

She promises the moon we’ll be one in celebrations.

***

She begs for this to happen, pleading mournfully

Requesting the surrounding forest take up her plea,

Their answer is a quiet sigh, knowing she’d ask

But hoping instead she would wordlessly flee.

***

The moon and stars had become strangely silent

While the forest trees and nightly scattered clouds,

Watched as her requested morning colours shone

As the early natural mists covered her in shrouds.

**********************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

surreal poetry
11

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 2 years ago

    One of you best. I like the way you weaved lines that could be a short story into the form of a poem. Very artful and original.

  • Great word choices and storytelling

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.