Poets logo

Shattered.

A poem of self-worth.

By Kaitland TaflingerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3

Cerulean.

The blood that flows through my veins.

Herculean.

The effort that it takes to stay sane.

It’s you again.

It seems we will always keep meeting.

Come on then.

Your words cut, but they’re fleeting.

I’m on defense.

The last of my strength dripping away.

Relentless.

I look back at you, ready to say

That I’m broken.

Yet you silently mock me still.

I’m at the end.

The sound of breaking glass is shrill.

Vermilion.

The blood that flows over glass.

One in a million.

The chances I’d make it past

My reflection

With its strangling opinions.

Comparison

Brings forth its taunting minions.

Contradiction

Is the battle we fight.

Confliction.

On one hand, I’m ugly, is that right?

Conviction.

I know in my heart that can’t be true.

Reflecting.

Learning to admire the view.

Resilience.

The scars don’t define me anymore.

Brilliance.

The only thing I’m destined for.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Kaitland Taflinger

Just someone who loves using words to write worlds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.