Poets logo

Sharks

I still love you

By Natasha CollazoPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
Sharks
Photo by arash payam on Unsplash

I question if I even know what love is.

Because love can’t possibly feel like this.

If it were up to me I’d chase you,

like in the movies,

right before you board your plane to tell you not to go.

But this isn’t that movie. And you ought to go.

Often my feelings just run me over,

I try to validate them but it doesn't matter what I think.

What matters is the reality of truth behind those deceptive butterflies in my stomach,

or anxious vibrations that circulate the ache.

Circling like sharks around my heart,

the pounding of my pulse I clench in my fists.

The undeniable love and passion wholesome enough to perspire,

straining back and forth in distress.

It feels so real because it is.

Banging against the shields of my subconscious.

I created this.

I feed the sharks down the bridge of my woe.

You see, validation is not the green light to our feelings,

It's the acceptance that I wasn’t home enough for you;

and the power to

let it go,

to where-ever it is that malnourished love

goes to die.

*

For now I'll just smell the roses, and blow out the candle on this melancholy Monday.

heartbreakBlackout

About the Creator

Natasha Collazo

**Studying Modern Journalism NYU **

Student @ American Writers & Artists Institute

Project: The diary of an emo Latina (2025)

Content and freelance creator

✍🏽

Inquiries: [email protected]

Instagram: @sunnycollazo

Do all things in love

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Great poetry, Natasha! This one was a rollercoaster!

  • wow, I felt this one hard... well done!

  • C. Rommial Butler4 months ago

    “If you want a happy ending, that depends, of course, on where you stop your story.” — Orson Welles Well-wrought! Lovers come and go, yet love remains. I should have liked to have the romantic movie love myself, but how much of our lives should we spend chasing it. If at all? I suspect the answer is different for each of us! I added this one to the comment thread in my CREATION MYTH! https://vocal.media/poets/creation-myth-m8dm0x8d

  • Really heavy poem but so beautiful. There's a real sense of pain and almost danger in this poem. Well written!

  • You see, validation is not the green light to our feelings, It's the acceptance that I wasn’t home enough for you; Gosh these lines hit me across my face and punched me so hard in the gut. Loved your poem so much! Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Deep dive into a self-aware soul. Love it!

  • "Casablanca", not just a movie but a classic which won best picture. He doesn't chase after her but lets her go. A movie so much better, more evocatively powerful, that those where either he or she does, though they allow us to feel good in the moment. "Casablanca"--that's what your poem evokes within me, Natasha.

  • D.K. Shepard4 months ago

    This packs quite a punch! The shark and feeding imagery was a brilliant thread

  • Joe Patterson4 months ago

    Very relatable.

  • There's a lot to ponder on in this Natasha. Well done!

Natasha CollazoWritten by Natasha Collazo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.