Poets logo

Shame by Lolly Vieira

A quick morning poem I wrote about my own experience with shame.

By Lolly VieiraPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Shame by Lolly Vieira
Photo by Gage Walker on Unsplash

I want to see your shame

that burning in the pit of your stomach

that makes your eyes water at just the thought

I want to hear you say it

as your throat muscles clench

and your mouth becomes dry

now take your shame and sit with it

accept it for what it is

you can't change the past

nor can you predict the future

what you have is here and now

being present with that shame

I dare you to find a way to love it

be vulnerable with the ugly bits

and remember that you get to move on from it

though the shame may sit heavy in your heart

it's but a piece of the whole picture of you

you're allowed to forgive yourself

you're allowed to live without regret

but you must take the first step

and be willing to face the raw honesty

no matter how much it hurts

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Lolly Vieira

Welcome to my page where I make sense of all the facets of myself through poetry and short stories.

I'm an artist of many mediums and strive to know and do better every day.

https://linktr.ee/lollyslittlelovelies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.