Poets logo

Shame

A Response to the Shame I Felt Having Had Gay Sex with an Ex, Whilst I Was Supposed to be at School Revising #VocalNPM

By Owiny LubangakenePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
'Skam' S03e05

“You should be fucking careful with talking and raising yourself above Gay Pride.” - Skam S03e05

There is no shame in sex.

No, there is no shame in sex.

Now I may put some blame

On the bus or the train

For coming home late on a school day - Monday,

But there is no shame in sex.

There is no shame in sex.

No, there is no shame in sex.

I'll leave my dirt with my shoes at the door,

Is that enough to not be seen as a whore?

I'll wear a clean shirt and tuck in my label,

God forbid I upturn your neat dinner table!

God is so last year, fuck your mortification,

And if there is God then don't dare curse his creation,

Because there is no shame in gay consummation.

There is no shame in sex.

No, there is no shame in sex.

You can hold back the rain,

I've no sins to be cleansed of.

Yes, I may give some guilt for the lies I pretend on

But in my defence, it is you who takes offence.

It is you who will cry if I come on the thigh of the guy - my consenting lover.

It is you who sees crime in the jovial times of one boy and another, Mother.

It is somewhat more pleasant to pretend than offend,

But do not be mistaken, I have no shame to be taken.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Owiny Lubangakene

Black bisexual bastard. 21. Freelance model, artist and creative director.

IG: @glowiny

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.