Poets logo

Shakespeare vs The Modern World

My mind speaks as one of my students' rants about Shakespeare.

By Baxter PagePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Shakespeare vs The Modern World
Photo by Matt Riches on Unsplash

Ranting about Shakespeare’s work,

To my student, he seems like a jerk,

Using words that don’t make sense,

Glad he’s not here to fight for his defense,

I think about the time I studied him,

Made me want to sacrifice a limb,

I feel his pain, it ain’t no plain Jane,

What more can I say?

No need to stay, move on?

I’m confused much like my students,

I’m back to square one, send help!

Update, we’ve moved on to maths,

Finally a question where are no brats,

Alas, my luck was at a halt,

Again, time for the mental assault,

- Baxter Page, 18/04/2022

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Baxter Page

Student 👨‍🎓 | Writer✍🏽 | Caffeine Enthusiast ☕|

I’ve looked at many niches and have decided poetry expresses me the best!

I hope you enjoy my content! 😁

Twitter: @baxterpage_

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.