Poets logo

Shadow Sentinel

Ekphrastic Poem inspired by Leonor Fini: Autoportrait au scorpion

By DaphsamPublished 29 days ago 1 min read
7
Leonor Fini: Autoportrait au scorpion (Self-Portrait with Scorpion) (1938)

I am one with this painter’s hand,

Sheltering me within this gray glove, out of sight.

I am Leonor’s shadow sentinel, we will not be banned.

**

My tail imprints an oil tattoo for all to understand,

Our mark in the world is a graceful, playful sight.

I am one with this painter’s hand.

**

Yet others say we are disgraceful and misunderstand,

Leaving us to bare our scars from the fight.

I am Leonor’s shadow sentinel, we will not be banned.

**

Thrusting through a narrow threshold, to expand,

Sensual symphony on full display to delight.

I am one with this painter’s hand.

**

A deafening roar of chaotic thoughts splashes across the muted land,

Some will embrace, and others stay uptight.

I am Leonor’s shadow sentinel, we will not be banned.

**

Tis no matter, my presence hidden like the grains between toes of forgotten sands,

For my weaver of worlds dares all to excite.

I am one with this painter’s hand.

I am Leonor’s shadow sentinel, we will not be banned.

Image source: https://thesurrealatelier.wordpress.com/2015/08/30/leonor-fini-the-sphinx-of-surrealism/

surreal poetryVillanelleEkphrasticart
7

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk12 days ago

    I am intrigued and now must research :)

  • This is beautiful

  • Wonderful work inspired but a wonderful choice of art. I was no previously familiar with the artist so thank you for the introduction. As a surrealist painting it makes much more sense that others of that movement.

  • Well-wrought! This line literally made me gasp with appreciation: "my presence hidden like the grains between toes of forgotten sands" I love that you pay homage to the painters! Surrealism is especially dear to my heart!

  • Mark Graham28 days ago

    To me this reads like one of those poems we read in English literature. Good work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.