Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Shadow Of My Past Self

Reflections Of Who I Used To Be.

By Carol TownendPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Shadow Of My Past Self
Photo by Danny Lines on Unsplash

I stare back at the shadow of myself on the wall;

I see into the soul, the soul of that young lady

I used to be.

Vulnerable,

Shattered,

Broken,

Bruised,

Blank.

I stare at her for a few moments,

I ask her,

"Was I really that worthless?"

I hear echoes of my tears,

begging them;

"Please don't hurt me."

My head;

split between who I was then,

And who I am now.

I stare more closely at my shadow,

A window opens into her soul;

She was,

Pained,

Alone,

Worthless,

Unloved.

She lost her identity,

And her sense of self,

Her stability was lost,

Lost to the torment of abuse from her past,

And she never forgets what they did to her.

As the shadow fades,

Her reflection becomes clearer;

She sees,

Beauty,

Strength,

Love,

Freedom,

Her recovered identity,

A heart full of joy and passion.

All those fragmented parts of her shadow,

Come together to make her who she is today.

She smiles;

She might remember,

But she also knows who she is today.

She is love,

And she shines love wherever she goes;

She is Carol.

social commentaryMental HealthinspirationalheartbreakFree Verse

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Tressa Rose5 months ago

    This was a beautiful piece. Glad to have you as a new friend on here ☺️

  • Kageno Hoshino5 months ago

    Nice poem

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    These is such a great poem of transformation 💗❤️🥰

Carol TownendWritten by Carol Townend

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.