Poets logo

Shade Conflict

Stop being grey.

By AndinohPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Shade me in or out of your life

if you don’t like me, I don’t mind

you look at me, but you can’t see me

your words can’t beat me, so they can’t kill me.

I was born with two eyes

That see light to sense color

But still dal-tonic I am

Cause I don’t see them judging wise,

Since my eyes can only see

They can’t think nor speak

And if they spoke they would say

We are not a color we are a shade.

We are brown as the earth,

Some are coffee, some are cream

Depending on where you come from,

And Your family and genes.

It depends of the weather

And your ancestors too,

I got a heart and lungs

That breath the same air as you

So, look at me, I’m not a color,

I wasn’t born a color,

It doesn’t affect my mind,

It doesn’t make me smaller,

I am not black or white

As all people claim

We are all brown not grey,

Do not try to cheat sight

The conflict is in the shade

On being dark or light.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Andinoh

Artist/a, Music Producer, Songwriter, Singer, Writer, Poet/a, from Dominican Republic, Live/Love California. LARS student. Please Donate for a bigger cause. Follow Instagram @Andinoh.dnote

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.