Poets logo

Sewing Basket Case

A poem of defiance and defeat

By Rebecca HansenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Sewing Basket Case
Photo by Tracey Parish on Unsplash

How often you held me at needlepoint!

Snipping and clipping to cut me down

Each piercing criticism a prick

In your porcupine-like gown.

I’m done with being your pincushion;

I like the shape that I’m in.

Look in the mirror, because I’m out

And you’re on your own again

Now I use an iron-on applique

To repair the holes in my heart –

Have to keep the heat and pressure on

So I don’t fall apart;

I close my wounds with superglue

And I cut my bangs with a knife

And I buy new balls when I find them flat –

You’ve put me off sewing supplies for life.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Hansen

Putting words down in writing makes me feel alive. What do I write about? Yes. Also that. I like to think that my randomness is charming.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.