Poets logo

Setting you free

This is goodbye

By MorganPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
3
Setting you free
Photo by Mantas Hesthaven on Unsplash

At some point, it has to be simple, right?

We're not simple;

We were once worth it, but is that still true tonight?

I can't envision a future with you anymore,

I dated you for your potential, but it never did unfold.

I find it hard to walk away,

But now, it's either you or my soul.

My anxiety is at its worst,

My old demons are resurfacing.

Staying with you, I'll lose myself,

Adapting to your ways until there's nothing left.

We met when we were young,

Yet, we've grown apart, not just older.

Between you and me, sometimes I wish I was her.

I'll take a deep breath; can we start anew?

How long until you truly commit?

I was your first, your sole choice,

And you let it all slip away.

This time, I'm trusting my intuition,

I'm not happy, and it seems you're not either.

I'm trusting my gut and setting you free.

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Morgan

Hi, I'm Morgan, a writer by heart with a passion for crafting innovative stories. Follow me for updates on my latest projects and achievements!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    Sad but beautifully written.

  • Cool piece😉💯👍♥️

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great poem! Set them all free…. Into the fire 🤓 love this! Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.