Poets logo

"Serving" reality

Tables & Servers

By JASMIN Latty Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Where do i sit and eat?

My place as a woman... kitchen

my place as a Black Woman... server

my place as a Gay Black Woman... (loading)

So where do i sit and eat?

Where do I take my not so Black girlfriend?

(because ivy league isn't really the place to find two Black lesbians)

Where do i take her without explaining what it means to be Black first ?

"Token" second ?

Then Gay third?

2 extra hulas hoop she 99% won't understand

no matter how great at math she is

(And she will be great at it.)

Where do i sit and eat?

At the Black ...or the Gay lunch table?

The pressure of picking has always made me cringe

and eat alone on bathroom floors.

Because how do you pick only half of who you are

And ignore the other

I sat at the black table once with pride

and took out a recipe from my Jamaican side

hard dough bread and cheese

And they laughed at me

"You're not Black!... You're AF-REE-CAN"

they jeered- sounding more vulgar than wrong.

And then I was done with tables.

Because when the world looks at you as a server

No one serves you.

So where do i sit and eat?

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

JASMIN Latty

Internationally booked music artist, comedian film and content writer from Yonkers Ny. Owner of content providing agency with over 35 clients and $10k in virtual content sales per client in the first month.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.