Poets logo

Series 1

Inspired by Waiting By Robert Frost

By By_MacaliforniaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Series 1
Photo by Piotr Chrobot on Unsplash

What is there to dream of when the days task have been completed

When car keys are on the desk, and there’s dishes in the sink

Outside voices turn inward, where their lights do blink

Birds quiet their melody and the sun goes wink.

Then will their tales arise

When the light has dived over the horiz’

Sons share to their fathers about their day

Stories spoken as in their bed they lay

I visit a vision while the city listens to the noise

Of planes touching down, from their mission they were deployed;

In a different place I am tripping

While shifts end and the third is beginning,

Where doors open so spirits keep spilling

The empty vessels they keep refilling

But even when closing, when they must leave

My trip does not end, yet to be complete

Thus I visit friends, of which I have no memory.

I’m floating; in what is disappearing

People reminisce about their prospect

Reality is filled with blood and sweat

To that I return from being in spirit.

To fit the puzzle kit; To twist the Rubik’s

Who is the one that gets the other’s acceptance

Is it the preference of completing a checklist

The freedom to neglect it with no reparations

For I have dreamed a dream of another nation

Where separation is not segregation

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

By_Macalifornia

This is an area where I will post my writing practices.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.