Poets logo

Separation

A Poem for Those in Grief

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
5
Separation
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

Our separation is but a myth

So tell your broken heart to lift

The pain you carry will at once heal

Once you realise separation is not real

*

The physical realm around you now

The one where you weep and wonder how

I left you behind to suffer so

Will disappear as you expand and grow

*

Like the caterpillar in the dark cocoon

Unsure and afraid following what happened too soon

I promise you will emerge with a stronger heart

That would never have been possible if we did not part

*

Your capacity for love will grow beyond measure

Inside yourself you will uncover more treasure

I know this is not what you wanted to hear

As you feel lost and alone, flowing with tears

*

You want so badly to go backwards in time

To a place I existed, in a form you called mine

Yet the only thing that you truly need to see

Is that I AM you, and you are me

*

There is no separation, it is but a myth

The pain in your heart, you feeling adrift

A time must soon come where you let it go

When you realise all is one and feel into our soul

*

I am the sun, the moon, the sky,

I am the sails that you watch pass by,

I am the stars, the wind, the storm,

I can take each and every form

*

This is why you must not mourn for me,

For I have the gift of being truly free

I am everywhere and nowhere and all of time,

I am still yours, and you are still mine

*

I am no longer bound by one human form,

I returned to nature, as before I was born

I am to be found in every single thing,

from the drip of a tap, to the falling rain

*

I fulfilled my purpose here on this earth,

To gift you a taste of heaven, for your soul rebirth

I’m so sorry that I could not stay

I’m so sorry it had to be this way

*

I know I left you with a heart full of pain,

But also with so much more love to gain,

Remember that I am always near,

I am still kissing away every tear

*

You must use your life to help others to see

There is no separation between you and me

Give this earth all the love we created

They need it so, to conquer fear & hatred

*

Show them all what you felt for me

Show them our love, and how life should be

Be their friend and be their guide

Be the one supporting, by their side

*

And some day your time will also come

To leave your body, and take new form

And that’s the day you will truly see

There is no separation, between you and me

*

Kiss your grief goodbye, my lover, my friend

Mourn me no longer, allow sorrow to end

There is a time for this and for that

This is time to accept, I’m not coming back

*

Not in the same beautiful form,

My laughter, my smile, it has but gone

But do not think that was all me

For I am much more than you could see

*

I am so much more than a bodily form,

I am connected to all, thats why you must not mourn

*

Fall in love with everything around,

Each person, animal, sight and sound

For I am there in every way,

& I am with you every day

*

Choose to laugh, to love, to smile,

Choose to feel joy walking each and every mile

For I am you and you are me

we are pure consciousness

Don’t you see?

heartbreak
5

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Kayleigh, this is one of the most profound poems I have read in a long time. Thank you for writing and sharing it. I wrote a similar poem years ago, which I turned into a spoken word piece. It is now part of my podcast. I will share it on Vocal soon. In the meantime, here is another piece that reminds me of yours (not as eloquently stated, of course): https://vocal.media/poets/the-haiku-shack-podcast-true-art

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    That is just so beautiful 😭😭😭

  • Test8 months ago

    Such a lovely sentiment and beautifully written as always 🤍 I have no doubt that many will find solace in your words in times of need 🤍

  • Kelsey Clarey8 months ago

    This is so lovely <3

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    This is so powerful and heartfelt. Absolutely beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.