Poets logo

Senses of Betrayal Version 2

Breakfast Club Affairs

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 12 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
1
Senses of Betrayal Version 2
Photo by Brigitte Tohm on Unsplash

and just like that, I awoke

her eggshell vows were broke

but it was me who was cracked

seeing her expose her yoke

asked to inhale

a stovetop’s red coil down my throat

just to wash it down

with her biting words served as coffee grounds

but when put through filters

“Et tu, Brute,” sieved out

nights of shivers and cold sweats

in my own saltwater without a vest

while the scent of lies filled the house

holding the air hostage to waft about

the aroma of liquid dripping slow

kisses from wildfire’s twin sister smoke

drip. drip. drop.

down into a pot,

to love, to honor, to comfort

to touch a handle

not knowing if it was hot

to pour black hole liquid,

straight into a mug

to tilt it back and burn my tongue,

all because I chose to chug

to shutter now when I realize how

bitter the taste, the sips really was.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    So many good word plays in this one. "Black hole liquid" is my favourite!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.