Poets logo

Self Affirmation or Self Destruction

Consolation

By Eastern TwelvePublished 6 months ago 2 min read
3


When it comes to the art of consolation, the human race takes the trophy home. Our ability to find a reason to justify some of our pathetic habits is quite refined. I'll jump right into it.

When it comes to love and friendship, it's common for us to say, "I want someone who loves me for who I am and if who I am is not enough then they do not deserve me" or something in the lines of that ... you get my point!

Maybe some do stop to consider what that trully means but, I definitely did not!

I always looked at the outcome of such a situation from one point of view. It was always "they don't deserve me because I'm too good" and never " they don't deserve me because they are too good" ...selfish, proud or self-centered, the adjectives fit to describe such a thought are endless.

It wasn't until a friend of mine asked me if I am good enough to be someone's perfect companion, romantic or platonic. That one hit me!

It's always "I want this and that "and never "do they want what I am?"

For the sake of self preservation and building self esteem I affirm myself, tell myself I am enough as I am and that it's okay to not be prefect.

I am in no way saying that I should not...I'm just worried that that acceptance is what leads to stunted growth. Too comfortable with the imperfections because I'm deluded that either way the slipper will fit.

Well it will.Problem is it will either end up too small for you or your feet will be too small for it.Why? Because misery attracts misery. That comfort zone of I am enough regardless will pull in an 'I am enough regardless' flock and then who will I blame when the glass slipper is not like cinderella's?

Self affirmation, self love or whatever is good and all... but unlike the me of one hour ago, do not let it tone you down and hold you back from being the best version of yourself.

Anyways, intrusive thoughts can be enlightening when they are not encouraging you to act like a witch doctor in an uber.

surreal poetrysocial commentaryinspirational
3

About the Creator

Eastern Twelve

Apricity

It's a definate 12!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so profound, poignant and powerful! I loved reading this so much! My favourite was the part about Cinderella's glass slipper.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.