Poets logo

Seeking Eternal Truth

Deja-Vu

By KJ AartilaPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
7
Seeking Eternal Truth
Photo by Tengyart on Unsplash

Not all here is as golden as it seems;

the spaces in between the words

is where you'll find the truth --

denial by reversal reads as pretty bold.

***

Just ask this aged Aquarian,

who learned to be skeptical

of the fantastical storytellers with

desperate egos to behold ---

***

My God may know my destiny

beyond the constellations,

if only I believed,

no further than I'm told ---

***

Sometimes, I like to gamble,

betting on my gut.

So play the hand that you were given,

or it's time for you to fold.

***

Fragments of a life figmented ---

do you believe in what you say?

Your lies are greasy-sweet sometimes,

but your story doesn't hold.

***

Thank you for taking the time to read my word-play, which most likely makes sense to no one but me! This one's pretty self-indulgent, but I like it anyway. So I thought you might, too. :)

surreal poetry
7

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    'Your lies are greasy-sweet sometimes' KJ! That line!! Gorgeous!

  • C. Rommial Butler9 months ago

    "Become what you are." -Pindar But a more refined take might be: "I have decided not to oppose anyone ever again, since I have noticed that I always end by resembling my latest enemy." -E.M. Cioran How many people are we, really? Ye who walks alone walks with many.

  • So play the hand that you were given. To me that seemed like we gotta make the best out of our life. Loved your poem!

  • Looking into your eyes filled deep with stories wanting to be told, holding myself a royal flush, with hope for you, I fold.

  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    Kj - So enjoyed this. I hear from so many about my 'Poker' Short - that it's hard in these times to "Play the hand that's Given" but we all just 'Deal' with it. - Always my Pleasure - Jay

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.