Poets logo

Seeing The World in Color

My thoughts on the world at large in poem form

By Jamie LammersPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I used to think in black and white, struggling to find the gray

My optimism shone a bright yellow with my faith in our green and blue planet

I refused to believe that red hot anger controls our world

Because the colors of positivity shone through in my eyes

The beauty of purple and orange skies in the morning and evening

The shades of brown and beige and tan that make up our human species

The beautiful rainbow of art and science and society

As I've matured, I've come to think less in black and white

My optimism starts to turn into gray indifference

I start wondering if our chartreuse and azure planet will turn scarlet with rage and fire and hatred

But I still refuse to let the idea of a gold, happy world turn sour

The colors of the rainbow should all shine through in the human race

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.